Five jobs, one clear plan
You do not need an app for every appliance. A compatible ordinary light or humidifier can use a shared smart-switch app. Keep the device controls that do a different job: a thermostat regulates heat, and a misting controller handles its short cycles.
- 01 · Plant lightVisible light for plants; its own switch.
- 02 · UVBMatching lamp and fixture; its own switch.
- 03 · HeatA compatible thermostat regulates the heater.
- 04 · MisterA dedicated controller runs short misting cycles.
- 05 · HumidifierOnly when the plan calls for it; verify timer compatibility.
This is a control concept, not a wiring diagram. Name devices clearly so one switch cannot be mistaken for another.
Choose the control arrangement
| Arrangement | What it helps with | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| One strip with individual smart outlets | Several nearby routine switches in one app. | Each outlet must be independently controlled. The strip has one combined load limit. |
| Separate smart plugs in the same app | Equipment positioned in different places. | Exact model compatibility, plug spacing and the outlet/circuit load. More plugs do not create more circuit capacity. |
| Separate conventional timers | An alternative when you do not want app control. | Timer resolution, correct clock and restart behavior for each device. |
A three-way splitter is not three timers. Everything on a passive splitter shares the upstream on/off state. Do not chain power strips or use splitters to exceed ratings. Compare each model’s documented compatibility and warranty.
Kasa HS300 · US version
Six independently controlled AC outlets share the Kasa app. Its maximum is 15A / 1875W for the whole strip, with a separate 1/6 HP motor rating. Check your equipment labels; six outlets do not give six times that capacity. Use a dry location and the manual’s direct-wall connection instructions.
Power recovery matters: TP-Link says schedules can continue through internet loss while powered, but after a power outage the device needs internet to resynchronize time. Test the exact setup; a saved setting is not proof a device resumed. Schedule behavior →
Keep plant light, UVB and heat separate
UVB reference: the Zoo Med ReptiSun T5 HO hood is a concrete starting point. The 24-inch LF-71 takes a matching 22-inch, 24W T5 HO lamp. Check the exact bundle to learn whether a bulb is included. Select UVB strength using the species, distances, mesh and measured exposure; the hood size alone cannot select it. Manufacturer instructions →
Alternative UVB reference: Arcadia ProT5, US 24W kit. Confirm the US voltage/plug, included lamp and its strength. A kit is convenient, but this guide does not choose a UVB percentage for every species.
Plant-light reference: Arcadia JungleDawn LED BAR, using the appropriate US model and mounting instructions. Keep plant light and UVB on separate switches if they need different schedules; a linking cable would tie them to the same power state. US manual →
Plant LEDs still produce heat. The visible-light LED referenced here does not replace the selected UVB source. Keep mounting/ventilation within the manufacturer instructions and check the enclosure readings. LED heat explained →
For a heat source, use a compatible thermostat. A Wi-Fi timer only changes when power is available; it does not measure or limit the animal’s temperature. Do not bypass the thermostat to make everything look unified in an app.
Herpstat 1 manufacturer manual is one thermostat reference. Choose a model and mode compatible with the heater. For this concept, keep its regulation and schedule local, without repeatedly cutting its power through Wi-Fi.
A mister and a humidifier have different jobs
Mister reference: MistKing Starter v5.0, with the US adapter and ST-24 configuration confirmed before selection. The ST-24 controller handles seconds-based durations in AUTO mode. Keep that controller in charge of individual sprays; Kasa’s suitability for second-resolution misting has not been established.
Timer-compatible fogger reference: Zoo Med’s RF-10 ReptiFogger manual explicitly describes using a timer for on/off operation. It also describes an output dial and low-water shutoff. That supports evaluating external timer use; it does not establish that this model, or any humidifier, is needed in every enclosure.
Check the exact unit after a power interruption, low-water stop and refill before relying on it. Keep the manufacturer’s water and cleaning routine, retained enclosure ventilation, and a measured species-specific humidity plan. A manual knob by itself is not proof of reliable restart.
Keep mains connections dry, follow drip-loop and electrical instructions, and make drainage accessible. Review drainage and the room →
Dated prices for three equipment options
Price references checked (America/New_York). Prices can change; amounts below exclude tax and any shipping.
| Equipment reference | Observed price | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Zoo Med ReptiFogger RF-10 | $52.99 Below $60 before tax/shipping. | Manual dial; review the timer and restart checks above. Any separate timer or smart plug costs extra. Price source |
| Zoo Med ReptiSun T5 HO, 24-inch LF-76 bundle | $76.99 Fixture with 10.0 bulb; below $100 before tax/shipping. | Has a manual on/off switch. Confirm the exact bundle; its included 10.0 bulb is not a recommendation for every chameleon. Select exposure for the species and measured setup. A different bulb or mounting/control accessories add cost. Price source |
| Zoo Med ReptiBreeze X-Large | $172.99 Cage reference. | 24 × 24 × 48-inch screen enclosure. Assess the animal and room conditions, drainage and retained ventilation; this is not a complete habitat bundle. Price source |
Check current stock and the arrival date for your ZIP on the retailer site. No two-day arrival or final delivered total is verified here. These are ordinary product links, with no affiliate tracking tags.
Need it within two days? Check the exact address.
California, Florida and New York do not have one statewide stock level. Use your delivery ZIP or store location on the seller’s site to check the exact model and arrival date. “Ships in two days” is not the same as “arrives within two days.”
- Save the model number, voltage, lamp/fixture match and necessary accessories from the manufacturer reference.
- Check local pickup first when time is tight. Confirm the item is physically available, not merely orderable.
- Check the arrival date at checkout, including the seller and ship-from location, cutoff, weekend and weather conditions.
- If it cannot arrive in time, review an equivalent using the same specifications. Do not replace it with an incompatible bulb, pump or control just because it is nearby.
This guide does not take payment or reserve stock. No live inventory feed or two-day delivery promise is active. Your ZIP is not collected here.
Start a local search through Zoo Med’s store locator or TP-Link’s US directory. Manufacturer listings help locate stores; they do not establish current stock or ECC approval of the seller.
Check the routine before depending on it
- Label each device and record its exact model and electrical rating. Match the connected load type, including any motor, to the control specification.
- Confirm that each intended switch affects only the expected device. Keep the heat thermostat and misting controller doing their own jobs.
- Check clock, time zone and what happens after loss of Wi-Fi, internet and power. Record the result rather than assuming a saved schedule will resume.
- Test changes with an empty setup first, then measure the room and enclosure. An empty trial does not replace ongoing checks with the animal present.
Build my free checklist → · Electrical load guidance →
These are equipment references, not a complete care prescription or a sponsored product ranking. No universal lighting hours, misting duration or humidity target is assigned.
Sources for this page
- Learn About LED LightingENERGY STAR · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- Household Extension Cords Can Cause FiresUS Consumer Product Safety Commission · Publication 5032, April 2012; checked 2026-09-26
- LF-71 ReptiSun T5 HO Terrarium Hood instructionsZoo Med Laboratories · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- RF-10 ReptiFogger instructionsZoo Med Laboratories · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- Kasa HS300 US specificationsKasa Smart / TP-Link · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- HS300 US user guideTP-Link · US guide revision issued December 2020; checked 2026-09-26
- Do schedules work without internet?TP-Link · Updated 3 July 2024; checked 2026-09-26
- ProT5 UVB Kit, US 24W catalogArcadia Reptile Inc. · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- JungleDawn LED BAR US instructionsArcadia Reptile · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- Herpstat 1 / 2 manualSpyder Robotics · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- Starter Misting System v5.0Jungle Hobbies / MistKing · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- ST-24 Seconds Timer instructionsJungle Hobbies / MistKing · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- ReptiFogger RF-10 retailer listingChewy · Checked 26 September 2026, 05:05 EDT (America/New_York); prices can change
- 24-inch ReptiSun T5 HO with 10.0 bulb retailer listingChewy · Checked 26 September 2026, 05:05 EDT (America/New_York); prices can change
- ReptiBreeze X-Large retailer listingChewy · Checked 26 September 2026, 05:05 EDT (America/New_York); prices can change
- ReptiSun T5 HO hood with 10.0 bulbZoo Med Laboratories · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- ReptiSun T5 HO 5.0 / 10.0 fixture instructionsZoo Med Laboratories · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
- ReptiBreeze enclosure specificationsZoo Med Laboratories · Publication date not stated; checked 2026-09-26
Created 26 September 2026. Reviewed 26 September 2026, America/New_York. Source publication dates are preserved separately above. This educational page has not received a completed veterinary review. Research-in-progress sections retain their stated limitations.